School Council

About School Councils

All school councils in Victoria operate under the Education and Training Reform Act 2006.

Each school council is established by an Order of the Minister for Education, which specifies:

  • membership
  • size and configuration
  • objectives and powers
  • functions and accountabilities
  • role of the executive officer who is the principal.

More information on the roles and responsibilities of school councils can be found at

2022 School Council members

Department of Education and Training representatives

Department employees include staff members at the school. Members of this category may make up no more than one-third of the total membership of the school council. As the executive officer, the principal of the school is automatically one of these members.

  • Meredith Thornton - Acting Principal, Executive Officer
  • Amanda Callaway
  • Deidre Prior

Parent representatives

Parent members must comprise more than one-third of council’s total membership. Department employees are eligible to be parent members at their child’s school, as long as they do not work at the particular school.

  • Jimmy Harris - President
  • Mark Hawthorne - Vice-President
  • Nick Austin - Treasurer
  • Lucy Rogers - Minute Secretary
  • Elizabeth Andrew
  • Nooshin Evans
  • Kimberly Hall
  • Georgie Jones
  • Aime Loydell